A Bringer of New Things

Musings on personal growth, books, motherhood, writing, and more. "Every hour is saved from that eternal silence, something more, a bringer of new things." – Tennyson

The Riptide of Reason: A 99-word Story

By Kelly M. Grow/ California Department of Water Resources (California Department of Water Resources) [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

Not only have I missed regular blogging (see my last post), but I have also missed participating in the Carrot Ranch flash fiction challenges, so today I managed to scribble out an entry for this week’s challenge — to write a 99-word story using the concept of “riptide.”

I took the approach that’s easiest for me: instead of flash fiction, this is flash memoir.


The Riptide of Reason

She closed her bedroom curtains against the darkness of the night. Though around her all was still, inside her was a hurricane. She stumbled onto her bed, clutching her head. Her questions and doubts lately, her struggles, studies, thoughts, reasonings—they had all led up to this moment of separation, a riptide tearing her away from the current of the life she had always known. Her people. Her religion. Her God. All gone in a moment as she asked the final question, the one she hadn’t known she’d been hiding from until now: What if it was all untrue?

5 comments on “The Riptide of Reason: A 99-word Story

  1. Norah
    September 19, 2017

    I’m sorry for your anguish. I hope the hurricane is not too destructive and that you find the answers you seek. Great piece of flash memoir.

    Like

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      September 19, 2017

      Thank you, Norah! I suppose I should have clarified that this incident took place almost ten years ago. It was a major and anguishing turning point in my life, but I’m well past it now and no longer in that anguish. So no need to worry! But thank you for the care!! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • Norah
        September 21, 2017

        I’m happy to know you survived. 🙂

        Like

  2. Sarah Brentyn
    September 19, 2017

    That is a fantastic flash. And a great take on the prompt.

    Like

I welcome your thoughts.

Information

This entry was posted on September 18, 2017 by in Creative Writings and tagged , , , , .
